Skip to content ↓

Ss John Fisher and Thomas More
Roman Catholic High School

  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image

Let all our bright
colours shine.


There are 14 members on the Board of Governors. 

The constitution is as follows:

  • 9 Foundation – appointed by Salford Diocese
  • 1 LEA – appointed by Lancashire Education Authority
  • 2 Parents – elected by parents and guardians of children on roll at the school at the time of the election
  • 2 Staff – 1 elected by staff and the Headteacher

Full Governing Body meetings are held at least four times each year, twice during the Autumn term and once during the Spring and Summer terms. There are sub-committees some of which have to exist by law and are known as statutory committees. These are committees which deal with both pupil and staff discipline and official complaints and any appeals which may arise from these matters. The non-statutory committees are:

  • Standards and Achievements
  • Resources
  • Pupi Welfare and Discipline

These committees meet at least once each term in a pre-arranged cycle prior to a full Governing Body meeting but might also meet as the need arises. Reports from each committee are passed to all Governors at their termly meeting for information or ratification.

By law some decisions can only be made by all the Governors and cannot be delegated to a committee. An example of this is the determining of the Admissions Policy in the school.

A Governor represents everyone in the school, not just the body which elected them; a parent Governor brings the views and expertise of being a parent and is not a representative of parents as a whole. Any Governor can be approached if a person has a matter of concern or requires information.

As required by law, the Governing Body has a publication scheme available under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. The aim of the school is to enable every child to fulfil their learning potential with education that meets the needs of each child and also to help every child develop the skills, knowledge and personal qualities needed for life and work. The publication scheme is a means of showing how this school is pursuing these aims. A full list of documents available for public access can be found elsewhere on this website.

The school contact about any documents contained within the publication scheme is Mr Halshaw who is the Clerk to the Governing Body. He can be contacted during school hours for information about this or about any matters pertaining to the Governors.


Name Position Term of Office Business Interest
Mr J Halshaw/Mrs A Atkins Clerk to the Governors    
Mr P Adefuye Foundation Governor 20/09/18 to 31/08/22 None
Mrs J Butterworth Foundation Governor 01/07/18 to 30/06/22 Parent of pupil at Fisher More
Mr D Clegg Co-opted Governor 05/07/18 to 04/07/22 Governor at Lord Street Primary School
Mrs K Flynn Driver Foundation Governor 1/09/18 to  31/08/22 None
Mr P Gauntlett Foundation Governor 01/09/18 to 31/08/22 TBC
Mr T Harmson Co-opted Governor 04/07/17 to 05/07/21 None
Ms C Hayes
Staff Governor 29/11/12 to 28/11/16 None
Mr J McManus
Vice Chairperson
Foundation Governor 13/03/17 to 12/03/21 Foundation Governor at  St John Southworth RC Primary School and IEB member - St Monica's RC High, Prestwich
Mrs C Roberts Parent Governor 23/10/16 to 24/10/20 Parent of pupils at Fisher More
Mr K Pickup Foundation Governor 01/09/14 to 31/08/18 None
Mr S Sarwar Local Authority Representative 08/11/14 to 07/11/18 Non-Exec Director
Airedale NHS Foundation Trust
and Director Msingi Research
Mrs M Thomas MBE 
Foundation Governor 01/09/14 to 31/08/18 None
Miss L Woltering Staff Governor 01/09/16 to 31/08/20 None